World Cup: FIFA Drops Referee Koman Coulibaly

There’s been much speculation as to the fate of African World Cup referee Koman Coulibaly after his blown call in the U.S.A.’s last match against Slovenia.

Koman Coulibaly Sacked By FIFA At World Cup

(Follow Brooks on Twitter for live, 24/7 updates)

Today FIFA finally officially responded to the matter, if not indirectly, by not assigning Coulibaly to the next round of World Cup matches. (Matches 33-40.)

The referee for the U.S.-Algeria match on Tuesday is Belgian Frank De Bleeckere.

Unlike Coulibaly, who is officiating his first World Cup, De Bleeckere is a veteran referee who has officiated some of the world’s most important matches in recent years. Read more…

‘The Cheater’: African Soccer Ref Strikes Yet Again

Today in a World Cup match against Slovenia that ended 2-2, the U.S. was robbed of a potential game-winning goal by referee Koman Coulibaly (#42!) thanks to a phantom foul call by the native of Mali.


To international soccer observers well-versed in the performance of officials, today’s inexplicable performance by Coulibaly came as no surprise.

Though officiating his first World Cup, Coulibaly has long been a center of controversy in past international matches. His handiwork involving Tunisia in the 2010 Africa Cup resulted in fans setting up a Facebook group calling for his removal from FIFA. The group was called: “TUNISIA ALL AGAINST Koman Coulibaly the cheater.

Coulibaly though is most known for an inexplicable call in a 2006 World Cup qualifying match that should’ve handed home team Cameroon a spot in the World Cup - which in turn would’ve absolutely robbed Ivory Coast in the process. From Yahoo Eurosport:

Coulibaly awarded Cameroon a disputed stoppage-time penalty kick in their final 2006 World Cup qualifier against Egypt in Yaounde (Cameroon) that, had they converted, would have taken them through to the finals.

Instead, Cameroon’s Pierre Wome was unable to convert the gift-wrapped goal from Coulibaly, striking a post and sending Ivory Coast to Germany. (Wome’s miss resulted in his obligatory fear for life and limb.)


But Coulibaly’s World Cup assignment isn’t the most outrageous officiating injustice of the tournament - by a longshot! Read more…