FIFA: Use Of Replay “definitely not on the table”

Despite two more prominent mistakes by World Cup officials in Round of 16 tournament games Sunday, FIFA Secretary General Jerome Valcke reiterated after the games that soccer’s world governing body had no plans to consider the use of instant replay.

Officials mistakenly disallowed goal by Frank Lampard of England

In a 4-1 loss to Germany, England had a shot from Frank Lampard clearly go beyond the German goal line but the apparent goal was disallowed by Uruguayan assistant referee Mauricio Espinosa and referee Jorge Larrionda. Had the goal been allowed, England would’ve tied the game 2-2 in the 38th minute of the contest.

Carlos Tevez was offsides when scoring against Mexico at the World Cup

The other major officiating mistake of the day came on Argentina striker Carlos Tevez’s opening goal in an eventual 3-1 win over Mexico. Tevez was clearly offsides as he scored, with the goal met with howls of protest from the Mexican side and television and radio announcers.

Argentina’s Telam News Agency reported, via translation, that FIFA Secretary General  Valcke did admit to officiating mistakes after the Mexico-Argentina match on Sunday:

(There were) some decisions that were not good. (But) we have no time to implement changes immediately. That can occur for the World 2014.

So what are those changes? Read more…