Photo: Dustin Johnson Clearly Hit Out Of Bunker

Here’s a photo of the bunker Dustin Johnson hit out of on 18th hole at the PGA Championship at Whistling Straits in Wisconsin yesterday:

Photo of bunker Dustin Johnson hit out of on Sunday at 18

(If it quacks like a bunker …)

Yes, the crowd covered the lip of the bunker for that shot but he was clearly standing in what was defined as a bunker in the USGA rule book and local rules. (Of course, Johnson yesterday didn’t have the luxury of that perspective.)

It was that bunker where Johnson grounded his club, effectively costing himself up to $1,079,167. After the golfer was penalized two strokes for his unfortunate action, Johnson was eliminated from a three-way playoff that led to Martin Kaymer claiming the Wanamaker Trophy. 

Kaymer’s haul: $1.35 million. Johnson? $270,833.

Read more…