Michigan FB Actually Has A “Dick Katcher” Award

Poor, poor Michigan Wolverines. First Rich Rodriguez’s transition to Ann Arbor goes less than smoothly, then the season crumbles under the wretched play of Steven Threet and Nick Sheridan at QB. Really, when you register the most losses in your program’s history, it has been a bad, bad year.

Tim Jamison
(Also a Badger Katcher, it seems.)

So while the outside accolades will be scant–if not non-existent–at least they’ve got their own team awards to hand out and celebrate their own best. But for outside linebackers and defensive linemen, perhaps they’d like to skip that honor. Unless they want the words “Dick Katcherattached to them for the rest of their lives, that is:

The Dick Katcher Award is given to the outstanding defensive lineman or outside linebacker at the conclusion of each football season. The award was established by Dick Katcher in 1982.

First, if you’ll permit us a brief indulgence. (clearing throat) Dick Katcher Dick Katcher Dick Katcher Dick Katcher Dick Katcher Dick Katcher Dick Katcher. Okay, got that out of our system.

This year’s winner is Tim Jamison, a senior defensive end. It’s worth noting that Jamison was not the best defensive end on the team at all; that would be team MVP Brandon Graham, who registered an unholy 20 tackles for loss and 10 sacks, compared to Jamison’s 10.5 TFL and 5.5 sacks. We really, really cannot blame Graham for passing on the award, though, and not just in the sense of being a “team player.”

Coach: “Congrats, Brandon, you’re the ‘Dick Katcher’ award winner!”
Graham: “The hell I am.”

Be sure to check back later for updates on other Michigan awards, like those honoring past legends like Gaylord Meatlover, Steve Ballsweat, and Crotch Rotserpants.

Dick Katcher.