Cam: Congressional Pardon Salute Not Unanimous

In recent years, about the only thing members of the U.S. Congress have been able to completely agree on is formal salutes of newly-named Heisman Trophy winners.

Cam Newton snubbed by voters in Congress

(Complete vote breakdown)

Most recently, the House of Representatives has unanimously-passed resolutions honoring Mark Ingram, Sam Bradford, and Tim Tebow.  In 2009, Bradford was rubber-stamped with a 394-0 vote while Ingram and Tebow were approved with unanimous voice votes shortly after winning the Heisman.

Cam Newton snubbed by voters in Congress

Despite that trend, you would still think that with the controversy surrounding Cam Newton’s recruitment to Mississippi State and Auburn, a formal House of Representatives vote honoring the new Heisman Trophy winner might not be such a grand idea for Washington’s pandering class.

But Alabama Congressmen Mike Rogers and Spencer Bachus - co-Sponsors of a resolution on behalf of Newton - and five other members of Congress from Alabama couldn’t help themselves. Nor could John Lewis of Newton’s Atlanta-area Congressional district.

Text from the unfortunately-worded H.Res. 1761:

H.Res. 1761 is expected to be considered on the floor of the House on Wednesday, December 15, 2010, under a motion to suspend the rules, requiring a two-thirds majority vote for passage. The legislation was introduced on December 14, 2010, by Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL).

While the resolution passed, there were some notable dissenters and abstentions.

Cam Newton snubbed by voters in Congress

The Newton resolution was opposed by 33 members of the Congress, including three Congressmen in the state of Georgia, two in Tennessee, one each in Mississippi and Lousiana and Oregon Congressman Peter DeFazio, who happens to preside over the Univ. of Oregon’s district.

But when it comes to meaningless Congressional measures, no single vote means more than that of Corrine Brown.

Corrine Brown

Brown’s Congressional district is adjacent to the Univ. of Florida, which prompted the UF alumnus to give the greatest congratulatory speech in United States Congressional history after the Gators defeated Oklahoma in the 2009 BCS Championship Game.


Urban Meyer better not even think of a primary run.

Follow Brooks on Twitter for real-time updates.